Jukebox Sez: The Get Down’s Gonna Fly is Inspirational…

The Jukebox is drawing attention to one particular song from Baz Luhrmann’s “The Get Down” — a Netflix original series classified as a hip-hop drama. We wrote about it when the first half of season one aired. Now the second half of the first season is available.

During Episode 2 of Part 2, The Get Down Brothers perform “We All Gonna Fly Now” at Les Inferno, a disco. You guessed correctly. It does sample the Rocky theme. We heart it because…

a) It is a great, inspiring performance.

b) It certainly fits the scenario at that time as the brothers are performing at a venue where disco rules and they are breaking through — providing an alternative form of entertainment.

Give it a listen below. Please note that it is NSFW (language — but not from the lyrics).

If you want some more of The Get Down sound, check out this mix tape by DJPHO

Published on Aug 26, 2016
Mix based on the tracks of the Netflix show.


1. Vitamine C – CAN
2. Play That Funky Music – Wild Cherry
3. Shining Star – Earth Wind And Fire
4. Think (About it) – Lyn Collins
5. Are You Ready (Do The Bus) – The Fatback Band
6. Disco Inferno – The Trammps
7. Bad Girls – Donna Summer
8. The Assembly Line – The Commodores
9. Apache – Incredible Bongo Band
10. Oye Como Va – Carlos Santana.
11. Living For The City – Stevie Wonder.
12. Hot Stuff – The Rolling Stones.
13. Susie Q – José Feliciano.
14. Concrete Jungle – Little Beaver
15. Rock Your Baby – George McCrae
16. Rule The World – Michael Kiwanuka
17. Rule The World (I Came From The City) – Michael Kiwanuka Feat. Nas
18. Balls Of Confusion – Leon Bridges
19. Action Speaks Louder Than Words – Chocolate Milk.
20. Up The Ladder – Herizen Guardiola & Justice Smith
21. Slippin’ Into Darkness – War
22. Kipling Theme – Kamasi Washington
23. Black Man In A White World – Michael Kiwanuka Feat Nas
24. Hollywood Swinging – Kool & The Gang
25. Funky Music – Dynamic Corvettes
26. A Fifth Of Beethoven – Walter Murphy
27. Star Wars Theme – MECO
28. Let’s Dance – Pleasure
29. You Can’t Hide From Yourself – ZAYN, Teddy Pendergrass & Grandmaster Flash
30. Get Down Brothers Vs. Notorius 3 – Jaden Smith, Justice Smith, Shameik Moore, Skylan Brooks, The Get Down Brothers & TJ Brown, Jr.
31. Zeke’s Poem (I’m The One) – Justice Smith

That’s a wrap!

Enjoyed this read? Want more ponderables?

Sign up to our mailing list!

Our weekly DragonBustR Reader will provide you with a nice snapshot of what’s new and ponderable at Jedemi. Plus, you will get updates on The Jedemi Chronicles (Trilogy & Series).


Speak Your Mind